The WHC’s twenty-five volunteer board members hail from all parts of the state. The Council seeks members whose experience, training, interests, skills, cultural background, and community ties bring diversity, energy, and expertise to our programs. Approximately half of the Council’s membership is drawn from the academic community and half from the community at large. New members are ordinarily elected to three-year terms at the Council’s February meeting, and assume office in June.  Six members are appointed by the Governor.

WHC Board Nomination Form PDF

Nomination Form as a Word doc


Our Members

Roberta S. Maguire, Chair

Diane Lichtenstein
Beloit College

Don Greenwood, Vice-Chair
Spring Green

Jim Marks
United Way of Greater Milwaukee
and Waukesha County

Arnold Chevalier, Treasurer

Joshua P. Ranger
UW Oshkosh, Polk Library

Mary Lynne Donohue

Troy Reeves
Madison, UW-Madison Archives

Reggie Jackson
Milwaukee, America’s Black Holocaust Museum

Joe Salmons

Celestine Jeffreys
Green Bay

Alton J. Smart
UW-Stevens Point

Juan F. Jiménez
Western Technical College
La Crosse

Karen Spahn
Mary Knapp
Madison, Madison Public Library

May Vang

Marie Kohler
Milwaukee, Renaissance Theaterworks
John C. Viste
Kathleen Laakso
Alex Zacarias
3N Productions, LLC
Green Bay