Wisconsin Poet Laureate

The Wisconsin Poet Laureate is our state’s ambassador for poetry. During a two-year term, the Poet Laureate travels the state to share a love of language and to encourage creative expression among adults and kids alike. Since the position was created in 2000 by an Executive Order of Wisconsin Governor Tommy Thompson, we have benefited from the tireless dedication of our Poet Laureates.

The WHC is one of six member organizations that provide financial support and representatives to serve on the Poet Laureate Commission.

Our current Poet Laureate is Margaret Rozga. To learn more about Ms. Rozga, read some of her poetry, and contact her about events and readings, visit the Wisconsin Poet Laureate website.


Past Poet Laureates

Karla Huston – 2017-2018

Kimberly Blaeser 2015-2016

Max Garland – 2013-2014

Bruce Dethlefsen – 2011-2012

Marilyn L. Taylor – 2008-2010

Denise Sweet – 2004-2008

Ellen Kort – 2000-2004